10 common pregnancy complaints

You may have heard about morning sickness and extreme tiredness, but what about these other common but less talked about pregnancy symptoms.

Bleeding gums

Have you noticed your gums bleeding when you brush your teeth? It could be pregnancy gingivitis. Hormones can make your teeth more vulnerable to plaque, leaving you with swollen, bleeding gums. You need to take extra care of your smile when you’re pregnant:

  • Book yourself a dentist appointment (it’s free through the NHS during pregnancy and for 12 months afterwards).
  • Brush your teeth twice a day for two minutes.
  • Ask your dentist about getting a professional clean.
  • Avoid sugary and acidic drinks and foods (particularly in between meal times).
  • Quit smoking.
  • If you have morning sickness, rinse your mouth with water after being sick. Try and wait an hour before you brush your teeth (they’ll be softened by the acid in your tummy).

Cramp

If you’re one of the unlucky ones rudely awoken by a sudden sharp pain in your leg, try gently exercising your legs, ankles and feet during the day - and see if that prevents it:

  • Point your toes and flex your foot up and down vigorously 30 times. Repeat on the other side.
  • Rotate your foot to make a circle, eight times on each foot.

Faintness

Been feeling slightly dizzy or faint? There are a number of reasons that you can feel faint in pregnancy; these can be hormonal changes, low blood pressure, you may become overheated or have low iron levels. Some useful tips to help are:

  • Get up slowly after sitting or lying down.
  • As soon as you feel faint, find a seat quickly - if the faintness doesn’t pass, lie down on your side.
  • If you feel faint while lying on your back, turn on your side.
  • Stay hydrated by drinking plenty of water.

If you experience feeling faint or dizzy then please contact your GP or midwife.

Feeling hot

Your body pumps more blood in pregnancy - that and hormones can make you feel unbearably hot:

  • Invest in a desk fan for work and your bedroom.
  • Carry a small, battery-operated fan around with you.
  • Wear loose, breathable fabrics.
  • Stay hydrated and always have a bottle of water handy.
  • Take a dip in a refreshing bath, or, better still, go for a swim.

Headaches

Yep you guessed it - those hormones are probably to blame again.

  • Try to rest when you can.
  • Keep hydrated.
  • Find ways to relax, like pregnancy yoga.
  • If you need painkillers, make sure you take the recommended dose. Not all pain relief is safe to take in pregnancy. Have a chat with your midwife or GP about what medication to avoid.

If you have a severe headache that does not go away it is important you are checked out by your GP or midwife. 

Indigestion and heartburn 

Hormones and, later in pregnancy, your womb pressing on your stomach can sometimes leave you bloated, burpy, sick or with a nasty heart burning sensation.

  • Make a note of what sets it off. Try to avoid these foods (spicy foods, chocolate and fruit juice are often to blame), especially in the evenings.
  • Try eating smaller meals more frequently.
  • Sit up straight when you’re eating to take the pressure of your stomach.
  • Finish eating about three hours before bedtime.
  • Try drinking milk when you get heartburn (and keep a glass handy in the night).
  • Prop yourself up with pillows in bed.
  • Ask your midwife or GP about antacids and algates.

If your heartburn is severe and is not relieved by the advice above treatments then you should speak to your midwife or GP.

Swollen ankles, hands and feet

Your body holds more water in pregnancy, which can move towards the lowest parts of your body making your ankles, hands and feet swell. 

  • Take a load off: Avoid standing for long periods of time
  • Prop your feet up so they’re higher than your heart for about an hour each day
  • Do some stretches: Point your toes down and release upwards, 30 times. Then circle your ankles eight times - both feet.

If your swelling is severe or comes on suddenly, or particularly in your face as well as hands and feet, and comes with a headache or problems with your vision, you may have pre-eclampsia. If you are experiencing these symptoms, you should call your midwife, hospital or doctor immediately.

Constipation

As soon as you fall pregnant, hormones can play havoc with your digestive system, leaving you constipated.

  • Make sure you’re getting enough fibre - eat lots of fruit and veg, pulses, wholemeal breads and cereals.
  • Drink plenty of water.
  • Keep active.
  • If you’re taking iron supplements (which can make you constipated), chat to your GP about your options.

Get more advice about constipation and suitable laxatives from NHS Choices.

For some women, hormones can also cause the opposite to constipation – diarrhoea. If this is the case for you, drink plenty of fluids and see your GP if it does not go away after 48 hours. Check with a midwife, doctor or pharmacist before taking any medication to stop diarrhoea.

You should be seen as soon as possible if you also have a fever, stomach pain, very dark urine or blood in your stool.

Pelvic pain

Symptoms differ from one woman to the next and some suffer more than others but pelvic pain - also known as pregnancy-related pelvic girdle pain (PPGP) or symphysis pubis dysfunction (SPD) - can be debilitating. Make these simple adjustments to ease the discomfort:

  • Sit down to get dressed, rather than standing on one leg to put knickers and trousers on.
  • Keep your knees together when you get in and out of the car.
  • Avoid carrying heavy things in one hand - use a backpack instead.
  • Don’t do breast stroke when swimming.
  • Stop exercises that might make your symptoms worse.

Speak to your midwife about getting a referral to a physiotherapist sooner rather than later.

See more information on SPD/PGP.

Pregnancy anaemia

Your body needs extra iron for your baby, which means you can miss out. Lack of iron can leave you feeling tired and breathless. Other symptoms can include looking paler than normal and, in some cases, noticeable heart beats (heart palpitations).

The trick is to eat plenty of iron-rich foods, combined with vitamin C (such as a glass of orange juice) to help your body absorb it. Avoid caffeinated drinks at mealtime, as they can interfere with iron absorption. Try:

  • dark-green leafy veg like broccoli
  • eggs
  • dried fruit like apricots
  • iron-fortified cereals and bread
  • pulses and beans
  • nuts and seeds.

If your red blood cell count is low, your GP may prescribe an iron supplement.

Ask your midwife if you have any questions. Find out more about anaemia in pregnancy.

More about early pregnancy

  • Profile of pregnant woman drawn in chalk on black board.

    Dos and don'ts for a safer pregnancy

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! This page covers the evidence-based recommendations from midwives of things to do and not do in pregnancy

  • Check how healthy you are

    Find out how healthy you are with our simple calculator tools and see what changes you can make to help you have a healthier pregnancy.

  • A woman sat on her bed corss-legged with her eyes closed and her head in her hands. She looks worried.

    First trimester worries

    Smoking, drinking, folic acid and miscarriage. Get answers to some of the common worries in the first trimester of pregnancy

  • Young woman yawning

    First trimester trials

    Nausea, extreme tiredness, sore breasts, cramps... the first trimester is not always easy. Here’s some advice to get you through the first 12 weeks.

Pregnancy blog

  • Mum holding newborn baby.

    Blog

    She's here!

    Eira (pronounced eye-ra - poor child will spend her whole life telling people how to say her name) has made her arrival!

  • Pregnant woman near her due date.

    Blog

    Due date!

    After what has felt like a very long time coming, it's finally my due week!

  • Pregnant woman relaxing at home.

    Blog

    Changing jobs

    I had my last day at work this week - and boy, was I ready for that day to come around. I worked right up until 38 weeks - my choice, and one I'll only regret if baby decides to come early and I don't get a rest!

Sources

  1. NHS Choices ‘Common health problems in pregnancy’http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/pages/common-pregnancy-problems.aspx (accessed 23/03/2018)
  2. NHS Choices ‘Headaches in pregnancy’http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/pages/headaches-pregnant.aspx (accessed 23/03/2018)
  3. NHS Choices ‘Can I take paracetamol when I’m pregnant?’http://www.nhs.uk/chq/Pages/2397.aspx#close (accessed 23/03/2018)
  4. NHS Choices ‘Indigestion and heartburn in pregnancy’http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/pages/indigestion-heartburn-pregnant.aspx#close (accessed 23/03/2018)
  5. NHS Choices ‘Treating constipation’http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/Constipation/Pages/Treatment.aspx(accessed 23/03/2018)
  6. NHS Choices ‘Pelvic pain in pregnancy’ http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/Pages/pelvic-pain-pregna... (accessed 23/03/2018)
  7. NHS Choices ‘Iron deficiency anaemia’http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/Anaemia-iron-deficiency-/Pages/Introduction.aspx (accessed 23/03/2018)
Hide details

Last reviewed on April 10th, 2018. Next review date April 10th, 2021.

Was this information useful?

Yes No

Comments

  • By Ciara (not verified) on 26 Jun 2018 - 23:35

    Hi I’m 32+2 and I’m having a lot of intense pains like period pains but also feels like an ache that’s always ther and a lot of pressure could it just be Braxton Hicks?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 28 Jun 2018 - 11:49

    Thank you for your comment
    I would advise that you contact your midwife asap to discuss these pains as you describe them as being intense as well as being always there and feeling a lot of pressure
    Braxton Hicks are more common as your pregnancy advances. They differ from labour contractions in that they are irregular, not painful (although they can be quite uncomfortable!) and only last 20-30 seconds. I have attached 2 links with more information for you:-
    https://www.tommys.org/pregnancy-information/labour-birth/braxton-hicks

    https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/pregnancy-weeks-33-34-35-36/

    Hope this helps
    Tommy's midwife

  • By Tola (not verified) on 5 Jun 2018 - 20:18

    Hi, I am currently in my 26th week, for weeks now I have suffered lots of pain around my waist and lower part of my tummy my gynaecologist said I have to endure till I put to bed. Sleeping is not exciting because I get the pain alot even while trying to sleep on my sides. Also I have this terrible migraine at the left front side of head every time I sleep sometimes I have the pain all through the night while trying to sleep its been very difficult for me. Most of the time when I wake I am practically useless because I have to deal with the pain till its gone but always comes back once I sleep. Are these normal at all sighs I feel so sad about it

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 6 Jun 2018 - 15:56

    Hi Tola
    I would like you to go to your local hospital to be reviewed by a midwife and obstetric doctor as soon as possible. I am concerned that your migraine/constant headache could be caused by pre-eclampsia so i want them to test your urine for protein, check your blood pressure and take some blood from you to test to rule this out. I also want the doctor to test your reflexes. This is very important so i'd like to to be seen as soon as possible.
    Less serious, is that you might be suffering with pelvic girdle pain with your hip pain, this is quite common in pregnancy. Try sleeping with a pillow between your legs so that they are well supported. You may also benefit from being seen by a physiotherapist to assess if you need a support belt or not.
    Please take good care of yourself and be seen urgently.
    All the best
    Sophie,Tommy's Midwife

  • By T (not verified) on 27 Apr 2018 - 15:43

    Hi I am 19 months pregnanant, in my 1st trimester ,I had some cramps on my left leg,I asked my gynachologist and ge said it's normal during pregnancy. Now on my 2nd trimester the cramps are on my right leg. S it still normal?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 27 Apr 2018 - 15:59

    Many women suffer with leg cramps during pregnancy.
    A cramp is a sudden sharp pain, caused by an involuntary spasm.

    A good way to relieve leg cramp is to flex your foot at the ankle and then circle your ankle vigorously - this increases the blood-flow to the leg. Massaging the affected muscles or pulling the foot towards you from the toes can also help.

    If you suffer from repeated cramps, exercise can help reduce the number of times you are affected. Try gently stretching the affected muscles several times a day.

  • By Allychia alcorn (not verified) on 15 Mar 2018 - 03:46

    I'm feeling movement in my stomach an feeling puresser but I'm not sure if I'm pregnant I did one test it said neg .I had a period last month

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 15 Mar 2018 - 16:43

    Hi,
    If you are noticing new symptoms with a negative pregnancy test then it might be that you need to be reviewed by your GP to discuss how you are feeling to ensure there is no medical cause to this.
    Best wishes, Tommy's midwives.

  • By evidence (not verified) on 6 Feb 2018 - 08:40

    Hi am 13 weeks pregnant when I started using the pills that I have been given I was vomiting but now I just feel pains in my womb and it makes me feel like an losing my baby is this normal or not?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 7 Feb 2018 - 11:31

    Hi Evidence
    What pills were you given please?
    If you are feeling pains in your abdomen, you really do need to be seen by your GP/early pregnancy assessment unit or in an urgent care center if out of hours. Abdominal pains are always treated suspiciously, at any gestation of pregnancy. So please get checked out asap
    Sophie,Tommy's Midwife

  • By 11 weeks (not verified) on 5 Dec 2017 - 03:34

    hi im 11 weeks preg now, i am so worried because i lost some pounds i cant eat properly everyday because i will surely throw up everything. what should i do please help

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 5 Dec 2017 - 14:03

    Hi,
    thanks for posting it sounds like you are really suffering and I am so sorry that you have nausea and vomiting in pregnancy.
    I hope that it will start to get better in your second trimester (after 12 weeks) but in the meantime please visit this incredible charity's website for more proactive ways to cope. You will not be doing the baby any harm but anti -sickness medication can make life more bearable. Ideally meaning that you can function and don't get admitted in to hospital
    https://www.pregnancysicknesssupport.org.uk/
    https://www.tommys.org/pregnancy-information/im-pregnant/early-pregnancy/morning-sickness-information-and-support
    We are also here to listen and there's always a midwife here weekdays 9-5pm on 0800 0147 800

    Wishing you well
    Anna-Tommy's Midwives

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 12 Nov 2017 - 11:04

    Hi
    I am confused about dates , my FDLP was 20/09/17 however after confirming pregnancy with GP 4 days ago decided to have a reassurance abdominal scan due to previous losses, which showed at most a 4 week spec( sonographers words), not sure how this is possible and now feeling really concerned and low, as i've had symptoms of pregnancy for over 5 weeks, is it possible that everything is ok or should we go back to GP.

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 13 Nov 2017 - 12:19

    Yes it is possible that your pregnancy is further behind than you think if ovulation was late. Do you have regular periods? Have you been given another appointment in the Early pregnancy unit? You are welcome to call us to discuss on 0800 0147 800

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 10 Nov 2017 - 23:29

    I am 9 weeks pregnant and feel like I have pressure down there and feels like i need a wee. Is this normal ?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 13 Nov 2017 - 11:26

    Hi. This is quite a common symptom in pregnancy. It may be worth getting your urine checked in case you have a urinary tract infection (UTI). If this is normal I would recommend that you try to learn how to do pelvic floor exercises. Strengthening the muscles of the pelvic floor can help with the pressure feeling. Remember though that this takes time. Regular exercise over a period of several weeks should help and is worth the effort. Good luck.

  • By Sheena ansaldo (not verified) on 1 Nov 2017 - 06:52

    Hi im 6 wiks pregnant i feel sharp pain in my right side rib cage and right side back..do you think it is normal?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 1 Nov 2017 - 09:16

    Hi Sheena
    Thank you for contacting us here at Tommy's.
    It would be sensible to get this pain checked out by your GP if it is mild pain, or if it is very severe pain, then it might best to go to A&E urgently. It is difficult to know what this pain is, but it is unlikely to be linked to the pregnancy in those area of your body. Please take good care of yourself!
    Sophie, Tommy's Midwife

  • By anonymous (not verified) on 27 Aug 2017 - 18:07

    Gud pm pls I am 27 weeks pregnant nd I am having sharp abdominal pains which comes n goes since yesterday. Is this normal? Wat could b d cause? Hope my baby won't b affected? Thanks

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 30 Aug 2017 - 11:33

    Hi there.
    Abdominal pain, at any gestation of pregnancy needs to be urgently reviewed. It might be nothing to be concerned about, but the obstetric doctor and midwife need to be the ones to decide this.
    Please attend your local hospitals labour ward/day assessment unit/triage to be seen as soon as possible if you have not already done so. Please take good care of yourself

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 19 Aug 2017 - 10:40

    Hello everyone.im 22wks pregnant i have been having experiencing body eaches sometimes Adol cant give me relief and this morning i woke up with a red watery and irritated eye. Is this normal?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 21 Aug 2017 - 16:29

    Hello. Sorry to hear you are not feeling at your best. A watery and red eye is not normal but it is also unlikely to be linked to the pregnancy. I would suggest that you talk to your pharmacist who may be able to advise some eye care products. Best wishes

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 16 Jul 2017 - 00:17

    Am 10 weeks and am bleeding is there anything i could do, am concerned. Is it normal

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 17 Jul 2017 - 14:37

    Hi, It is not normal to be bleeding at 10 weeks pregnant. It is possible that you are having a miscarriage but, even heavy bleeding doesn't always mean this. Please contact your doctor, midwife or early pregnancy unit for advice as soon as you can. Best wishes

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 15 Jul 2017 - 21:24

    Hi
    I took a test about a week ago and it shows positive. I think i am about 6weeks pregnant but I've been cramping ever since and started spotting today ... I had the same problem with my first pregnancy but then i really didnt know i was pregnant until i consulted a Doctor. Now I really dont know. I'm very worried and i dont know if its normal or not.

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 17 Jul 2017 - 14:26

    Hi, Light spotting can occur in the first few weeks for many reasons ( see our page on bleeding in pregnancy https://www.tommys.org/pregnancy-information/symptom-checker/bleeding-pregnancy) However if you are experiencing severe cramps it would be best to see your GP or in some areas the early pregnancy unit at your local hospital. Best wishes

  • By rekiya (not verified) on 7 Jul 2017 - 16:02

    am 15weeks pregnant but i still can't feel my baby movement,but i do fill some pain at d buttom of my belly any tym i lie on my side but am worred or should i jst go for another ultrasound? pls advice

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 7 Jul 2017 - 16:28

    Hi, please do not worry that you have not yet felt your baby move, it is very normal to not yet feel movements at this gestation. Most will feel movements between about 18-24 weeks of pregnancy. With regards to the pain this could be due to a urine infection, or your ligaments stretching as your bump grows. If you have any bleeding or pain worsens then call your maternity unit to be reviewed. If it is just some discomfort then you should be due a midwife appointment soon make sure this is booked when possible.

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 21 Jul 2017 - 23:43

    am 6week pregnant but i do fill some pain at buttom of my belly some time i lie on my side but am worred or should i jst go for another ultrasound? please advice

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 24 Jul 2017 - 14:47

    Hello Mahmood.
    Light stomach pain at the start of pregnancy is usually caused by your expanding womb and hormones. It can sometimes feel like a ‘stitch’. You may also feel light period-like discomfort or cramps at the beginning of pregnancy. These are usually nothing to worry about. If the pain persists then please see you doctor.

  • By pooja mehlawat (not verified) on 2 Jun 2017 - 10:15

    I m 16weaks pregnant can I have sex relationship with my husband...plss
    help

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 2 Jun 2017 - 14:08

    Thank you for your comment.
    You can have sex while pregnant; however if there have been any problems earlier in the pregnancy such as any heavy bleeding (having sex can increase the risk of bleeding happening again), a haemotoma(collection of blood in the uterus) a low placenta or if your waters have broken, your doctor or midwife may advise you to avoid sex
    I have attached a link with more information for you-
    http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/pages/sex-in-pregnancy.aspx

    Please contact us or call or Tommy's PregnancyLine
    0800 0147 800 for more information

    Thanks
    Tommy's Midwife

  • By halima (not verified) on 1 Jun 2017 - 12:09

    hi i m 13 weeks pregnant but yesterday i fall down from chair at my back way plz tell me its harmfull for my baby or not ,,i Am so worried plz help me

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 1 Jun 2017 - 13:05

    Hi, sorry to hear you had a fall and you are understandably worried. If you landed on your back and did not have a direct blow to your abdomen then it is unlikely to have caused any problems. Rest up and if you have any pain or bleeding then please call your maternity unit immediately. If your blood group is negative and you did bump your abdomen in anyway then it is important to ring the maternity unit to see if you need Anti D. If you would like to talk further please email us [email protected]

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 5 May 2017 - 05:14

    I am having my period regularly but having a strong sense that I am pregnant For 4 months. I had two children earlier so I know what it feels like when someone is pregnant. Is bleeding possible during pregnancy?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 8 May 2017 - 11:23

    Thank you for your comment.
    Some women do experience regular bleeding during pregnancy but this is often lighter than a normal period even though it may occur at the same time as a period might be expected; however although bleeding in pregnancy is common it is not normal and should always be investigated.
    Have you done a pregnancy test? -if this is positive then you should contact either your GP or your maternity unit for referral for a scan and to start your pregnancy care
    I would also advise that if you continue to have signs of pregnancy even if the test is negative, then to contact your GP for further advice
    I have attached a link with some information about bleeding in pregnancy that you may find helpful
    https://www.tommys.org/pregnancy-information/symptom-checker/i-am-bleeding-pregnancy

    Hope this information helps. Please do not hesitate to contact us for further advice or call our helpline on 0800 0174 800

    Marianne-Tommy's Midwife

  • By halima (not verified) on 30 Apr 2017 - 11:06

    hello i m 5 or 6 weeks pregnant but i have brown discharge nd bleeding yesterday nd also a back pain and little bit pain in my belly i dont no what happened i m so worried about it plzz tell me why its happend

  • By oriana (not verified) on 15 Mar 2017 - 11:04

    hi ..m 16 weeks pregnant im having lower back cramps like period since the time of conception...twice or thrice weekly for few hours...is it normal?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 16 Mar 2017 - 09:37

    Hi Oriana
    Having lower back aches in pregnancy is likely to be caused by a urinary tract infection. It is vitally important that you visit your GP as soon as possible in order to get urgent oral antibiotics to treat the infection. Try to drink plenty of water to help flush out the infection too in addition to taking the antibiotics once you have them. Please take care of yourself.

  • By Julia (not verified) on 29 Apr 2017 - 12:11

    I'm now 21 weeks but I had cramping early on for the first two months at least! Everything is great with my baby though :) very healthy. So the cramping was not something to be worried about

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 2 May 2017 - 14:14

    Hi,
    I'm so glad that those early worries are now behind you and you and your baby are doing well. Thank you for sharing your story.
    Anna-Tommy's Midwife

  • By Alexandria (not verified) on 5 Mar 2017 - 18:02

    Hi, I'm around 9weeks an I get the sharp pains now and then an morning sickness but ginger biscuits help! What I'm not too worried but abit weiry about is its hard to dis rive exactly but past couple days I get a weird aching feeling in my stomach then it's like I feel I'm going to start bleeding, luckily I havnt. Is this normal?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 6 Mar 2017 - 09:36

    Hi Alexandria.
    Having abdominal cramps at any gestation of pregnancy requires review as soon as possible by a medical professional. You can get an urgent appointment with your GP, who will refer you to your local early pregnancy assessment unit. The early pregnancy assessment unit may scan you and take some bloods as part of their investigations. Please take care of yourself and get checked out as soon as possible.

  • By Missy (not verified) on 2 Feb 2017 - 21:18

    Hi, I just hit my 9 week mark today with baby #2. I must admit I feel normal. (Besides me being hungry and having cravings) I get worried because I feel I feel TOO NORMAL. I'm not sure if there's a such thing, but I feel I need some reassurance.

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 3 Feb 2017 - 10:24

    Hi,
    Please be reassured that symptoms in early pregnancy can vary hugely, and some women never get any symptoms at all. You are having increased hunger and cravings which are symptoms, but please try not to worry. If you would like to chat further please do email us [email protected] or call 0800 0147 800, we are here Mon-Fri, 9-5pm

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 1 Feb 2017 - 08:49

    Hy m new here and m 10weeks preg last nyt i noticed that m bleeding it last abt 30minute thn i had a bath i ws fine this morning m bleeding as wel and i have cramps bt it nt too bad shuld i b concern

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 2 Feb 2017 - 12:12

    Hi, Please contact your GP or midwife if you are bleeding. It may be harmless spotting, but at 10 weeks this should be checked out.

  • By Rabia (not verified) on 14 Jan 2017 - 00:50

    Hi im 5 months pregnant
    I had a sore throat since ive been pregnant.
    Feels so irriatating and have always spit out. It even wakes me up at night to have a spit out. Doctor said to only have paracetamol which is not working. Do you know why this is?

  • By Midwife @Tommys on 16 Jan 2017 - 09:45

    Hi Rabia. Your Doctor has recommended paracetamol as this is a pregnancy safe analgesia for your sore throat. Ibuprofen, as well as many other types of analgesia, are not safe to take in pregnancy.
    If you are not sure which is safe and unsafe in pregnancy, then it would be sensible to go to a pharmacy and ask the pharmacist for sore throat relief products which are safe for use in pregnancy.

  • By Anonymous (not verified) on 15 Dec 2016 - 01:33

    Hello
    I'm 16 weeks pregrant and I've been getting sharp pains in my pelvic area since I was around 10 weeks. But they are not very often. Should the baby be okay?

  • Pages

Add new comment