Updated February 2014

Meet our Manchester team

Director - Colin Sibley, Professor of Child Health and Physiology

Professor Colin Sibley is the Director of our Maternal and Fetal Health Research Centre in Manchester. His research interests focus on problems related to the placenta, which can lead to pregnancy complications such as pre-eclampsia, fetal growth restriction, miscarriage and stillbirth. In 2013 he was made a Fellow of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists ad eundem for his contribution to women’s health and he was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science (DSc) by the University of Manchester for his work on placental function and fetal growth. In 2013 Dr Alex Heazell stepped up to become the Clinical Director of the Manchester centre with a particular focus on driving the Stillbirth Research Programme.

Principal investigators

John Aplin - Professor of Reproductive Biomedicine

Paul Brownbill - Research Fellow

Ian Crocker - Senior Lecturer

Leroy Edozien - Consultant Obstetrician and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer

Jo Glazier - Senior Research Fellow

Sue Greenwood - Research Fellow

Alex Heazell - Clinical Senior Lecturer and NIHR Clinician Scientist

Edward Johnstone - Clinical Senior Lecturer

Dame Tina Lavender - Professor of Midwifery (appointed a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in the 2012 Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to midwifery)

Rebecca Lee Jones - Lecturer

Tracey Mills - Lecturer

Jenny Myers - Clinical Senior Lecturer and NIHR Clinician Scientist

Colin Sibley - Professor of Child Health and Physiology

Clare Tower - Consultant Obstetrician and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer

Mark Wareing - Senior Scientist

Melissa Westwood - Reader

Melissa Whitworth - Consultant Obstetrician and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer

Philip Baker - Honorary Visiting Professor

Independent postdoctoral research fellows

Michelle Desforges

Mark Dilworth

Karen Forbes

Lynda Harris

Postdoctoral research fellows/associates

Jayne Charnock

Elizabeth Cottrell

Christina Hayward

Magda Karolczak-Bayath

Brandon Foster

Peter Ruane

Kate Widdows

Research midwives/practitioners

Alysha Allibone

Nicola Bamford

Kerry Barker

Giovanna Bernaviticus

Jane Boscolo-Ryan

Catherine Chmeil

Alison Cooke

Julie Dillon

Paula Doran (nee Evans)

Rachel Grimshaw

Christine Hughes

Sarah Lee

Claire McGuire

Lynsey Moorhead

Lynda Peacock

Natalie Patterson

Jayne Platts

Louise Stephens

Catherine Ricklesford

Cara Taylor - Research Midwife Co-ordinator

Helen Taylor

Suzanne Thomas - Research Midwife Co-ordinator


Sally Mosley - Technical Operations Manager

Helen Bischof

Liz Cowley

Ainsley Garrod

Kurt Mynett

Lewis Renshall

Research students

Alaa Alkhalefa

Khiria Alsaghir

Amal Alsolai

Bo Baker

Stephane Berneau

Catherine Castillo

Sarah Coleman

Natalie Cureton

Hayley Derricott

Paula Diaz

Chloe Duval

Lucy Higgins - Clinical Research Fellow

Chloe Hirst

Isaac Huen

Charlotte Hulme

Emma Ingram - Clinical Research Fellow

Tolu Junaid

Anna King

Hannah Kither - Clinical Research Fellow

Sammi Leane

Sylvia Liu

Siofra McDermott

Vicki Palin

Lewis Renshall

Emma Shawkat

Steffi Swietlik

Chris Whittle

Administrative staff

Jean French




Green open bracket

On this page




printPrint page
send to friendSend to a friend
back to topBack to top

Green closed bracket