Types of miscarriage

There are different types of miscarriage. In this section we explain more about each type, what might happen and what support is available for you.
  • Early miscarriage

    An early miscarriage is one that happens in the first 12 weeks of pregnancy (the first trimester). There are different types of early miscarriage.
    Early miscarriage
  • Missed miscarriage

    A missed miscarriage happens when your baby dies in your womb, but you don’t have any symptoms of miscarriage, such as bleeding or pain.
    Missed miscarriage
  • Recurrent miscarriage

    Recurrent miscarriage is defined as having 3 or more early (first trimester) miscarriages. It is often a difficult and traumatic experience.
    Recurrent miscarriage
  • Chemical pregnancy

    A chemical pregnancy is when a pregnancy ends in miscarriage before five weeks of pregnancy. Here, we explain more about chemical pregnancies.
    Chemical pregnancy
  • Incomplete miscarriage

    An incomplete miscarriage is when a miscarriage begins, but some of your baby’s remains or other pregnancy tissue stays in the womb..
    Incomplete miscarriage
  • Second trimester loss (late miscarriage)

    A second trimester loss (sometimes called a late miscarriage) happens after 13 weeks and before 24 weeks gestation. It can also be called a mid-trimester loss.
    Second trimester loss (late miscarriage)
  • Threatened miscarriage

    People sometimes informally use the term 'threatened miscarriage' when you have bleeding and/or pain in early pregnancy but you have not miscarried.
    Threatened miscarriage